Click here to see a plan of the cathedral with Viewpoint 7 marked.
Click here for an overview of the history and architecture of the choir and surrounds.
The Corona, the eastern most part of the cathedral, was built around 1185 by William the Englishman. The structure, which appears to be semi-detached from the external view, is unique in English cathedral architecture, as it was built primarily to house the scalp of Thomas Becket, destroyed in 1558 by Henry VIII’s men.
What to see:
- two memorials – to Cardinal Pole and to Archbishop Temple
- two windows – the Jesse window and Redemption window
- the African bronze sculpture of the burial of Christ